A H Khan

2018-09-29 02:25:18 BdST

Tigers claw back as Fizz gets Dhoni

Experienced campaigner MS Dhoni and Dinesh Karthik starred in a 52-run third-wicket partnership as India consolidated after the loss of Rohit Sharma but then Mahmudullah Riyad, brought onto the attack for his second spell got the important wicket of Karthik as India lost their fourth wicket. 

Mustafizur Rahman then got the wicket that Tigers were looking for as Dhoni edged one through to Mushfiqur Rahim.

India were off to a flying start before Bangladesh held them back by removing Shikhar Dhawan and Ambati Raydu. However dangerman Rohit Sharma was looking in ominous form as he continued to attack with ease before he fell in the 17th over to Rubel Hossain, giving an easy catch to Nazmul Islam at deep square leg.

Earlier, Liton Das struck his maiden ODI ton but Tigers lost their way after a great start and were bowled out for just 222 in the Asia Cup final against India.

What looked like a 300-plus wicket quickly turned into a desert mirage for the Tigers at the Dubai International Stadium as they were bowled out for just 222. Liton Das struck his maiden ODI ton off just 87 deliveries and took the game to India but loss of crucial wickets hurt Bangladesh big time.

In a surprising move, Bangladesh sent out all-rounder Mehedi Miraz to open with Liton Das, as Mashrafe Bin Mortaza made good on his promise to surprise India in the final and the move worked as Liton Das and Mehedi Miraz got Bangladesh off to a flying start.

The pair starred in a magnificent 120-run opening partnership before Miraz (32) fell in the 21st over to Kedar Jadhav. Then within the space of 12 overs, Bangladesh lost five quick wickets, adding just 31 runs to the total within those overs. Imrul Kayes fell to an excellent Yuzvendra Chahal delivery and Mohammad Mithun fell to a run out but then the wickets of experienced campaigners like Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah Riyad – out playing unnecessary big shots, really set Bangladesh back after such a fantastic start.

Liton went on to complete his maiden ODI hundred before he fell to a controversial stumping, having scored a 117-ball 121 with 12 fours and two sixes. Kuldeep Yadav was India’s most important bowler, picking up three wickets which included the wickets of Liton and Mahmudullah.

Soumya Sarkar, coming to bat in number 6 looked to settle things down and played a 45-ball 33-run knock but he fell to a run-out too as Tigers innings folded for 222.  

Bangladesh made one change to the eleven that played against Pakistan on Wednesday, with left-arm Nazmul Islam Apu coming in in place of batsman Mominul Haque.

While India coasted to the finals, winning all their matches except the last Super Four match against Afghanistan that ended in a tie, Bangladesh have had to book their place by winning their last two matches against Afghanistan and Pakistan.



Imrul Kayes, Liton Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mohammad Mithun, Mahmudullah Riyad, Soumya Sarkar, Mehedi Hasan Miraz, Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Nazmul Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Rubel Hossain


Rohit Sharma , Shikhar Dhawan, Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadhav, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from Sports