June 26, 2024, 5:03 am

Staff Correspondent

2024-04-04 22:09:01 BdST

Newly elected 2 city mayors, 5 zilla parishad chairmen take oath

Newly elected mayors of two city corporations – Tahsin Bahar Suchona of Cumilla and Ekramul Haque Titu of Mymensingh— as well as chairmen of five zilla parishads took oath on Thursday.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina administered the oaths at a ceremony held in Shapla Hall of her office in the capital on Thursday morning.

The chairmen of five zilla parishads are ANM Obaidur Rahman of Kurigram, Abdul Majid of Thakurgaon, Shamim Talukder of Sirajganj, Billal Miah of Brahmanbaria and Aleya Akhter of Habiganj.

Later, some 44 newly elected councillors of general wards and female councillors of the reserved seats of Mymensingh City Corporation also took oath.

Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives Minister Md Tazul Islam administered the oath of the councillors.

Cumilla City Corporation has got the first female mayor as Tahsin Bahar Suchona, daughter of Cumilla-6 lawmaker AKM Bahauddin Bahar, won the city polls on 9 March.

Ekramul Haque Titu was elected the mayor in the Mymensingh city corporation election held on the same day.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from National