March 30, 2023, 8:39 am

FT online

2019-02-09 16:20:45 BdST

AL finalizes nominations for JS women reserved seat polls

Bangladesh Awami League today finalized nominations of its 41 candidates for the elections to the women reserved seats in the 11th Jatiya Sangsad.

The nominations were finalized at a joint meeting of the AL Parliamentary Board and Local Government Election Nomination Board held at Ganabhaban, the official residence of the Prime Minister, here tonight.

AL Parliamentary Board and Local Government Election Nomination Board Chairperson and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina presided over the meeting.

“The meeting unanimously finalized the nominations of 41 candidates for the elections to the women reserved seats in the 11th Jatiya Sangsad,” AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader told a press briefing after the meeting.

The candidates are: Anjum Sultana in Cumilla, Sultana Nadria in Barguna, Mrs Hosne Ara in Jamalpur, Rumana Ali in Gazipur, Umme Fatema Nazma Begum in Brahmmanbaria, Habiba Rahman Khan Shefali in Netrakona, Sheikh Anny Rahman in Pirojpur, Oporajita Haque in Tangail, Mosammat Shamima Akhtar Khanam in Sunamganj, Shamsunnahar Bhuiyan in Gazipur, Fazilatunnesa in Munshiganj, Rabeya Alim in Nilphamari, Tamanna Nusrat Bubil in Narsingdi, Nargis Rahman in Gopalganj, Monira Sultana in Mymensingh, Nahid Ijhar Khan in Dhaka, Mosammat Khaleda Khanam in Jhenidah, Syeda Rubina Mira in Barishal, Wasika Ayesha Khan in Chattogram, Kazi Kaniz Sultana in Patuakhali, Advocate Gloria Ayesha Sarkar in Khulna, Subarna Mustafa in Dhaka, Zakia Tabassum in Dinajpur, Farida Khanam Saki in Noakhali, Basanti Chakma in Khagrachhari, Kaniz Fatema Ahmed in Cox’s Bazar, Rushema Begum in Faridpur, Syeda Rashida Begum in Kushtia, Zohra Alauddin in Moulvibazar, Adiba Anjum Mita in Rajshahi, Aroma Dutta in Cumilla, Shirina Nahar in Khulna, Ferdousi Islam Jesi in Chapainawabganj, Parveen Haque Shikdar in Shariatpur, Khadeza Nusrat in Rajbari, Shabnam Jahan Shila in Dhaka, Khdizatul Anwar in Chattogram, Zakia Parveen Khanam in Netrakona, Mosammat Tahmina Begum in Madaripur, Shirin Ahmed in Dhaka and Zinnatul Bakia in Dhaka.

The election for reserved women seats will be held on March 4.

Election Commission (EC) Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed announced the election schedule at a press conference on February 3.

As per the schedule, the last date for submission of nomination paper is February 11 and the scrutiny of nomination paper is on February 12.

The deadline for withdrawal of candidature is February 16.

Quader, also the Road Transport and Bridges Minister, said the name of the party candidates for the first phase upazila polls will be announced tomorrow.

“Our nomination for the first phase of the upazila elections is now at the final stage, and we will declare it tomorrow,” he said.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from National