December 6, 2022, 11:43 pm

Staff Correspondent

2020-12-10 05:55:32 BdST

Polls, by-polls to nearly 100 local govt bodies underway

Elections and by-elections to nearly 100 local bodies -- Zila Parishads, Upazila parishads, municipalities and Union Parishads--across the country began on Thursday morning amid tight security.

The voting started at 8:00am and will continue till 4:00pm without any break.

The Election Commission has taken necessary preparations to arrange the polls, EC's joint secretary (Public Relations) SM Asaduzzaman said on Wednesday.

The local bodies include four Zila parishads, seven municipalities, 10 upazila parishads and 71 union parishads.

Of these, only five municipalities and three union parishads will go to regular election, while the rest will go to by-elections.

The five municipalities are Faridpur and Madhukhali of Faridpur district, Rajoir of Madaripur, Bancharampur of Brahmanbaria and Palashbari of Gaibandha.

The three union parishads are Rantbhanga, Bandber and Char Shailmari of Rowmari Upazila under Kurigram district.

Among 68 other union parishads, the by-polls to the chairman post will be held in seven unions.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from Politics