July 18, 2024, 10:41 am

Staff Correspondent

2024-05-09 07:20:45 BdST

First Phase of 6th UZ Polls:  AL leaders dominate, JP secures one

Most of the independent candidates from Awami League (AL) have been leading in the chairman post in the first phase of the 6th Upazila Parishad elections held on Wednesday. 

There are several relatives of the ministers and lawmakers who also won in the polls, according to local sources.

Results of 28 out of 139 upazilas have come to the newsroom till filing the report at 9:00 pm on Wednesday. AL leaders secured victory in most of the upazilas while one JP candidate won in an area. 

In addition, AL leaders were elected unopposed in eight upazilas earlier. 

Harun Majumder, General Secretary of Upazila Awami League, won in Fulgazi upazila in Feni, Mansoor Ahmed Khan Jinnah won in Gazaria upazila in Munshiganj while Ali Munchur Babu won the  Damurhuda upazila election in Chuadanga.

Hafizur Rahman, former convenor of the Upazila Jubo League, was elected in the Jibannagar Upazila Parishad elections.

Riazuddin won the Sirajganj Sadar upazila election,  while Khalilur Rahman Siraji won the Kazipur upazila polls the district in Kazipur was declared as the winner.

Rezaul Haque Babu, General Secretary of Aminpur Upazila Awami League and son of Deputy Speaker Shamsul Haque Tuku, has won in Bara upazila of Pabna.

In Sujanagar upazila of the district, Awami League upazila secretary Abdul Wahab and in Santhia, a follower of Tuku  Sohel Rana Khokon have won the elections.

Voting was held through EVMs at Sadar, Nazirpur and Indurkani in Pirojpur.

Former VP of  Government Shaheed Suhrawardy College Students’ Council SM Baizid Hossain was elected chairman at the Sadar upazial parishad (council) while SM Nure Alam Shahin, the younger brother of Pirojpur-1 MP SM Rezaul Karim, won in the race in Nazirpur upazila and Ziaul Ahsan Gazi, general secretary of the district Jubo League, secured victory in Indurkani upazila.

President of the Pangsha Upazila unit of Awami League Khandaker Saiful Islam was elected chairman of the Pangsha Upazila Parishad in Rajbari district while Alimuzzaman Titu was elected chairman at Kalukhali upazila.

In Manikganj, district AL’s relief and social welfare secretary Dewan Saidur Rahman has been elected chairman of Harirampur upazila, and Upazila Awami League Joint Secretary Saidul Islam has been elected in Singair upazila.

Sirajul Islam Talukder has been elected chairman of Matlab Dakhin Upazila in Chandpur, Upazila AL joint general secretary Al Masum Morshed Shanto has been elected chairman at Khoksha upazial in Kushtia, AL general secretary Ataur Rahman Ata, also cousin of AL joint secretary Mahbubul Alam Hanif, has been elected from Kushtia Sadar upazila.

In Faridpur, Shamsul Alam Choudhury has been elected from Faridpur Sadar, Mohammad Muraduzzaman from Modhukhali upazila and Md Anwar Ali Mollah has been elected from Charbhadrasan upazila.

In Rajshahi, Belal Uddin Sohel has been elected from Godagari Upazila and Lutfur Haidar Rashid Mayna has been elected from Tanor upazila. 

In Narayanganj, district JP vice president Maksood has been elected from Bandar upazila, district AL advisor Abani Mohon Das has been elected from Shalla upazila in Sunamganj, upazila AL general secretary Pradip Ray has been elected from Derai upazila in Sunamganj and Minhajul Liton has been elected from Sonatola upazila in Bogura. 

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from Politics