June 26, 2022, 1:17 pm


2019-11-16 13:26:40 BdST

PM inaugurates 3rd council of Swechchhasebak League


Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has inaugurated the council of Swechchhasebak League, an associate body of the ruling party.

She inaugurated the council by releasing pigeons in Dhaka's Suhrawardy Udyan around 11:10 am on Saturday.

AL General Secretary and Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader and AL Organizing Secretary and founding president of Swechchhasebak League AFM Bahauddin Nasim were present on the dais as special guests.

A total of 1,975 councilors and 18,000 delegates joined the council.

The second session of the council will be held at the Institution of Engineers, Bangladesh (IEB) auditorium in the afternoon.

Councillors will propose the names of a new president and general secretary who will be finalised after a closed-door negotiation meeting with the candidates.

Nirmal Ranjan Guha, convener of the council preparatory committee of Swechchhasebak League, told a press conference on Thursday that all preparations have already been taken to hold the 3rd council of the organization.

Nirmal said 13 sub-committees were formed to hold the council in a befitting manner.

Swechchhasebak League was founded in 1994 with Makbul Hossain as convenor and Habibur Rahman Habib as a joint convenor.

Swechchhasebak League had its first council in 2003 through which AFM Bahauddin Nasim was elected president while Pankaj Devnath general secretary.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from Politics