July 15, 2024, 4:31 am

Sports Correspondent

2023-03-15 04:27:02 BdST

Bangladesh stun England sealing T20 series 3-0

Bangladesh stunned World Champion England by sealing the ongoing T20I series 3-0 after winning the third and final match by 16 runs at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur of Dhaka on Tuesday.

In a major humiliation for England’s normally clinical white ball unit ahead of the 50-over World Cup in India later this year, Bangladesh won the third and final T20 in Dhaka by 16 runs.

The home side already won the first game by six wickets and the second by four wickets to give Bangladesh their first series victory over England in any format.

Set 159 to win after winning the toss and opting to bowl, England managed only 142 for the loss of six wickets despite Dawid Malan making 53 and captain Jos Buttler 40.

Taskin Ahmed took two wickets conceding 26 runs in his four overs while Shakib, Mustafiz and the debutant Tanvir took one wicket each.

Liton Das stroke 73 off 57 balls while Najmul Hossain Shanto hammered 47 off 36 balls.

Two changes for Bangladesh, including a debut for the left-arm spinner, Tanvir Islam. Shamim also returns for Afif.

Bangladesh: 1 Rony Talukdar, 2 Litton Das (wk), 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Shakib Al Hasan (capt), 5 Towhid Hridoy, 6 Shamim Hossain, 7 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 8 Tanvir Islam, 9 Taskin Ahmed, 10 Hasan Mahmud, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

England: 1 Phil Salt, 2 Jos Buttler (capt & wk), 3 Dawid Malan, 4 Ben Duckett, 5 Moeen Ali, 6 Sam Curran, 7 Chris Woakes, 8 Chris Jordan, 9 Rehan Ahmed, 10 Adil Rashid, 11 Jofra Archer.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from Sports