June 26, 2022, 2:44 pm


2018-10-10 19:23:22 BdST

19 culprits who get death penalty on AUG 21 grande attack


After a long wait for over 14 years, a speedy trial tribunal on Wednesday sentenced 19 people to death and 19 others, including BNP acting Chairman Tarique Rahman, to life imprisonment in two cases filed over the August 21 grenade attack on an Awami League rally in the capital in 2004.

Besides, 11 people were awarded different terms of jail in the sensational cases, said Public Prosecutor Mosharraf Hossain Kajal.

Judge Shahed Nuruddin of the Speedy Trial Tribunal-1 at Old Dhaka’s Nazimuddin Road pronounced the verdict around 12:13 pm.

The death penalty convicts are former junior home minister Lutfuzzaman Babar, former Deputy Minister for Education Abdus Salam Pintu, Mawlana Tajuddin, intelligence officials Major General (retd) Rezzakul Haider Chowdhury and Brigadier General Abdur Rahim, transport operator Md Hanif, militants Mawlana Sheikh Abdus Salam, Abdul Mazed Bhat, Abdul Malek, Shawkat Osman, Mohibullah, Abu Sayeed, Abul Kalam Azad, Jahangir Alam, Hafez Abu Taher, Hossain Ahammed Tamim, Moin Uddin Sheikh, Rafikul Islam, Md Uzzal.

Unauthorized use or reproduction of The Finance Today content for commercial purposes is strictly prohibited.

Popular Article from Politics